18 December 2002

Sarah and Mastura in finals as Azlinda falls

TEARS of joy and sorrow flowed freely at the Malaysian camp yesterday as four exponents qualified for the finals and four for the semi-finals while two-time world champion Azlinda Ahmad bowed out disappointingly in her return to the national squad after being dropped for indiscipline last year.

The other exponent who was also booted out during the men's Class B quarter-finals was Negri Sembilan's Burhan Budong. He lost 1-4 to Vietnam's Nguyen Thuy. National champions Sarah Ishak and Mastura Rafuan, however, brought relief and joy to the homesters when they won their respective bouts to qualify for tomorrow's finals. They were the first two Malaysians to book their places in the finals in the championships which started on Sunday. Lincah Malaysia's national champion Rina Jordana Adnan qualified for the silat olahraga final in the evening, and returned later to book her ticket in the silat seni singles' finals. She scored 453 points in Pool A and is joined in the finals by Singapore's Alya Osman, Ly Thi Kim Tien of Vietnam and Dayang Rosidah Lamit of Brunei from Pool B. Mohamad Eswendy Maulana and Mohamad Andy Kabil also qualified for the men's doubles finals, joining Indonesians Asep Heri and Kusliwa Gunawan and Vietnam's Nguyen Hoi Bro and Nguyen Viet Anh and Spain's pair of Inigo Zarandona and Miguel Ange Salgado. But Sarah did not have it easy as she had to sweat it out against her relatively tough opponent from Indonesia, Nontje Sangkop before gaining victory. Backed by the supportive home crowd, Sarah however managed to gain points in her bouts to edge Nontje narrowly 3-2. Mastura, meanwhile, defeated Spain's Sofia Villa Nueva in the Class F category. The biggest disappointment was Azlinda, who won gold medals in Haadyai (1994) and Jakarta (2000), as she failed to overcome Vietnamese Pham Thi Hub in the freestyle category. Pham won 5-0. Four other exponents in the men's and women's categories managed to advance to the semi-finals. Mohd Arif Kamis won the freestyle event with a 5-0 margin while Mohd Zuber Ismail and Azhar Ahmad entered through Class G and H respectively. In the women's category, Hadziah Buang advanced to the semi-finals. RESULTS (Malaysia unless stated) - Men's Freestyle - Q-finals: Nguyen Thanh Arch Nhut (Vie) bt Zaenudin (Ina) 5-0, Mohd Arif Kamis bt Sukhjit Singh Shergill (Bri) 5-0; Class B: Nguyen Thuy (Vie) bt Burhan Budong 4-1; Class G: Mohd Zuber Ismail bt Abdul Kadir Ibrahim (Sin) 4-1, Alfred Neef (Ned) bt Wettle Gilles (Fr) 5-0. Class H: Azhar Ahmad bt Andy Zulkarnein (Ina) 5-0, Ronald Roll Vink (Ned) bt Ariftaskin Kokkoz (Bri) 5-0, Mohd Imran Abdul Rahman (Sin) bt De Becker Jan (Bel) 5-0, Nguyen Van Hung (Vie) bt Abchi Abdellah (Fr) 5-0; Class J: Hoang Giang (Vie) bt Glant Werder (Aus) 5-0, Bauke van Houten (Ned) bt Fritel Frederick (Fr) 5-0. Women's Freestyle - Q-finals: Pham Thi Hub (Vie) bt Azlinda Ahmad 5-0; Class B: Rina Jordana Adnan bt Siti Norhamizah Azahari (Bru) 5-0, Permata Kamalasari (Ina) bt Serena De Thomis (Ned) 4-1; Class C: Hadizah Buang bt Petra Postmus (Ned) 4-1, Tringh Thi Mui (Vie) bt Ni Komang Ayu (Ina) 4-1. S-finals - Class A: Le Thing Hong (Vie) bt Aungkana Aun Kasiwet (Tha) 5- 0; Class E: Lam Thi Huong (Vie) bt Pieters W. (Bel) 5-0, Sarah Ishak bt Nontje Sangkop (Ina) 3-2; Class F: Mastura Sapuan bt Sofia Villa Nueva (Sp) 5-0, Le Thi Hong Ngoan (Vie) bt Dwidamayanthi (Ina) 3-2. Silat Seni qualifying round men's doubles Pool A: Asep Heri G-Kusliwa Gunawan (Ina) 579 pts; Mohamad Eswendy Maulana-Mohamad Andy Kabil 566; Muhd Fazrul Aziz-Kamarulah Arifin Mohd Tahir (Sin) 563; Bart Stevens- Ronald De Haan (Ned) 537. Pool B: Nguyen Hoi Bro-Nguyen Viet Anh (Vie) 543; Inigo Zarandona-Miguel Angel Salgado (Spn) 502; Muhamad Ibnu Rodi-Adesmy Hamad (Tha) 492. Trios Pool A: Mohd Rashid-Abdul Rahim-Mohd Hafizul (Sin) 457; Pepijn Schviling-Michiel Wessiling-Chris Pieneman (Ned) 446; Miftah Caewae- Waratat Tapmongkol-Kitiroi Assavaaree (Tha) 434; Inigo Zarandona-Miguel Angel-Iker Goiri (Spn) withdrew. Pool B: Rizanul Wahyudi-Yunanta Chandra-Nuryudha Bijak (Ina) 460 (172); Nguyen Viet Anh- Nguyen Huy Bao-Nguyen Dang Linh (Vie) 460 (170); Omar Abdullah-Azahari Abu Bakar-Muhammad Rafee 455; Adrien Kardar-Shah Haque- Sean Kardar (Eng) 423. Women's singles Pool A: Rina Jordana Adnan 453; Alya Osman (Sin) 451; Tuti Winarni (Ina) 442; Aangkana Aun Kasiwet (Tha) 436; Anita Khorugdharry (Eng) 422. Pool B: Ly Thi Kim Tien (Vie) 461; Dayang Rosidah Lamit (Bru) 454; Blanka Michaela Remeseva (Czech) 444; Rosana Urrutikoetxea (Spn) 437.

Sourced from http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-11348171_ITM

No comments: