05 July 2001


KUALA LUMPUR, July 4 (Bernama) -- The Malaysian Silat Federation (Pesaka) today named the national squad, who included six new faces, for the 21st SEA Games here on Sept 8-17.

Pesaka secretary-general Megat Zulkarnain Omar Din said Malaysia would compete in 19 of the 21 silat events in the SEA Games.

"We decided to skip the Putra and individual events in the seni category to protest against the scoring system which favours the Indonesians," he told a news conference here today.

However the squad named today were not the final line-up as Pesaka would make some changes to it after the centralised training stint in Johor Baharu which began Sunday, he said.

He said three exponents - Ismail Darus, Nik Adli Nik Abdullah and Abang Ernie Fauzerul were vying for the Putra Class A and B while Roslan Hamid and Azman Mat Zain were competing for the Putra F category.

Megat Zulkarnain said Syarina Abdul Fatah and Shabnan Mohd Mokhtar were vying for the Putri Class C with Suryati Azlinda Jack and Noor Haslinda Halim tussling for Class F.

"The final line-up will be known by Aug 8," he said.

He said the exponents named to the national squad were picked based on their performance during trials held last month.

The lineup:

Putra: Ismail Darus, Nik Adli Nik Abdullah, Abang Erdie Fauzerul, Ahmad Shahril Zailudin, Shamsudin Md Darus, Muhammad Fajar Subhi, Roslan Hamid, Azman Mat Zain, Azhar Ahmad, Shamsul Nizam Abdul Rashid, Ahmad Faisal Omar.

Putri: Rina Jordana Adnan, Hamidah Jaafar, Syarina Abdul Fatah, Shabnan Mohd Mokhtar, Siti Sukmah Buang, Mastura Sapuan, Suryati Azlinda Jack,, Noor Haslinda Halim.

Silat Seni

Tempur Putra: Marwan Mat Rus, Muhammad Zainal

Tempur Putri: Noor Syahida Da Wati Abdullah Sani, Shalina Abdul Ghafar.

Jurus Wajib: Mohd Syafridzan Muhamad Baid, Idzir Shaik Abdul Razak, Mohd Roslan Ibrahim.

Sourced from http://www.accessmylibrary.com/article-1G1-76292769/pesaka-name-national-silat.html

No comments: