01 August 2002

Walkout quelled by Muhammad

FOR the second day running, controversy hit the 12th National Silat Championships but a firm hand from Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib quelled a walkout staged by Lincah Malaysia. The walkout also almost forced the resignation of National Silat Association (Pesaka) secretary Megat Zulkarnain as he felt ashamed since he was a member of Lincah.

Pesaka president Muhammad, however, rejected the resignation, and convinced Lincah to carry on and then promised stern action when the Pesaka executive council meets next month. Ironically, Lincah Malaysia went on to take the overall title with five gold medals, one more than Pahang and Gayung Fatani.

Lincah were upset over the loss of their SEA Games champion Ismail Darus in Tuesday's class B semifinals to Nik Adli Nik Abdullah of Gayuh Fatani. Despite the fact that the technical committee ruled in their favour, the match was still awarded to Adli. Although they accepted the ruling, it was a different story in the morning as they wanted to withdraw from the tournament, which is being used to select the national team to the inaugural Asia Pacific Championships next month. However, the president stepped in to advice them and they then agreed to carry on. "The president did not want to take immediate action as he feels we should allow the tournament to end first. Moreover, Lincah Malaysia did eventually compete," explained Megat.

On the mat, there were hardly any surprises as all the rest of the national exponents proved once again that they are the masters. Malacca's Ahmad Faisal Omar continued his 10-year unbeaten streak in the men's Class I with a 5-0 victory while Mohd Azrin Malek retained the Class H title for the fourth time.

RESULTS Finals Men Class A: Abg Erdie Pauzerul (Sarawak) bt Mohd Fazli Razali (G Fatani) 5-0 B: Burhan Budong (NS) bt Nik Adli Nik Abullah (G Fatani) 4-1 C: Mohd Emy Fazli (G Fatani) bt Shahrifullah Ibrahim (Perak) 3-2 D: Ahmad Shahril (Pahang) bt Mohd Shahibullah (Sarawak) 5-0 E: Syed Tahir Hussin (Pahang) bt Razman Sharif (Selangor) 3-2 F: Nordin Atan (Johor) bt Alwi Jidin (Kelantan) 3-2 G: Azhar Ahmad (Lincah Malaysia) bt Azman Mat Zain (KL) 5-0 H: Mohd Azrin Malek (Pahang) bt Abdullah Amir Rahman (Labuan) 5-0 I: Ahmad Faisal Omar (Malacca) bt Ahmad Tarmizi (Sarawak) 5-0 J: Mohd Arif Khamis (Malacca) bt Mohd Johari Jusoh (Johor) 5-0 Women Class A: Jurida Hussein (G Fatani) bt Rina Juliana Adnan (Lincah Malaysia) 4-1 B: Rina Jordana Adnan (Lincah Malaysia) bt Norazilah Mohd Abidin (G Fatani) 5-0 C: Norniza Abu Bakar (G Fatani) bt Zamzuraini Ahmad Zamran (Perak) 5-0 D: Siti Sukmah Buang (Malacca) bt Noridawati Hamid (Sarawak) 5-0 E: Sarah Ishak (Perak) bt Bibi Aishah (Malacca) 4-1 F: Azlinda Ahmad (Lincah Malaysia) bt Azlinda Abd Aziz (Pahang) 5-0 Team: Lincah Malaysia bt Kedah 3-1.

Sourced from http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-9980520_ITM

No comments: